CAFE Foundation Banner
Home Electric Aircraft Green Flight Challenge RESEARCH & PUBLICATIONS ABOUT CAFE

  PADA - Personal Aircraft Design Academy

Pipistrel Taurus G4

PADA 2014 Award and Meeting

The 2013 PADA Trophy was awarded to: Jon Sharp

The annual PADA dinner will be held on Friday, August 1, 2014 at 6:15 PM at the Nature Tent #3 at AirVenture, as in previous years. The dinner cost will be $30 per person and reservations can be online using a link that will soon be posted here. The PADA meeting will follow the dinner at 7:30 PM in the EAA Museum's Vette Theatre.

PADA 2012 Meeting

The 2012 meeting was highlighted by Tine's presentation of his work on the Green Flight Challenge champion aircraft, the Pipistrel Taurus G4, which achieved 403.5 pMPG.

Global Village at PADA 2010


Greg Cole admires the 2010 PADA Trophy

The 2010 meeting of the Personal Aircraft Design Academy during the Oshkosh AirVenture again included a global network of the brightest designers of personal aircraft. PADA Laureates Burt Rutan, Bruce Holmes and Dick VanGrunsven from the USA joined the many members of NASA and leading designers from Toyota, Slovenia, Germany and Sweden for an outstanding presentation by 2010 PADA Trophy honoree, Greg Cole. Brien Seeley chaired the meeting and opened with a presentation about the Green Flight Challenge program and its plans to encompass ultra-quiet aircraft that can operate at pocket airports."

PADA 2010 enjoyed an outstanding presentation by Greg Cole, who described his extremely high performance aircraft projects. Greg was awarded the PADA Trophy and Medal for 2010 for his long career of high achievements in personal aircraft design, and his nameplate was added to those of the legendary group of prior PADA Trophy Honorees.

In 2003, the perpetual PADA Trophy was designed and built for PADA by Brien Seeley, Cris Hawkins and Tim Seeley to commemorate outstanding career achievement in personal aircraft design. It resides in the EAA AirVenture Museum. Several of its esteemed honorees (listed below) gathered for the PADA 2010 to receive their commemorative PADA Medal of Honor.

PADA Trophy Honorees

  • 2003: Dr. Bruce Holmes
  • 2004: Dick VanGrunsven
  • 2005: Werner Pfenninger
  • 2006: Alan Klapmeier
  • 2007: Jerry Gregorek
  • 2008: John Roncz
  • 2009: Burt Rutan
  • 2010: Greg Cole
  • 2011: Barnaby Wainfan
  • 2012: Tine Tomazic
  • 2013: John Sharp

PADA Board:

  • Peter Garrison
  • Jerry Gregorek
  • Todd Hodges
  • Bruce Holmes
  • Mark Moore
  • Dan Raymer
  • Paul Schlein
  • Brien Seeley
  • Sid Siddiqi
  • Case van Dam

PADA Awards at AirVenture 2009


From left: Alan Klapmeier (Cirrus founder),
Burt Rutan (Scaled Composites),
Bruce Holmes (NASA, SATS)
and Dick VanGrunsven (Van's Aircraft)
Click to enlarge

The Personal Aircraft Design Academy (PADA) evolved from the Laminar Flow True Believers Society that met at the Oshkosh AirShow every summer. The PADA Board of directors (listed below), plans its annual meeting of aeronautical engineers and EAA innovators to have presenters who are highly accomplished in personal aircraft design/science.






Home Electric Aircraft Green Flight Challenge Research & Publications About CAFE
Copyright © 2013 CAFE Foundation